The Queen’s Reading Room, Season 11 selection – The Secret Life of Bees 2023

Induction into Georgia Writers Hall of Fame, 2022

Australian Woman’s Day “Great Read Pick”, The Book of Longings 2020

The Book of the Month Club finalist, “Book of the Year” award- The Book of Longings 2020

Goodreads Choice Award 3rd place, Historical Fiction- The Book of Longings 2020

Heather’s Pick, Indigo Books, Canada- The Book of Longings– 2020

Freedom of Spirit Lifetime Achievement Award, conferred by Fetzer Institute 2020

Lucille Lortel Award, Outstanding Musical- The Secret Life of Bees musical- 2020

Gulfshore Woman of the Year award- Naples, FL- 2017

Honorary Doctorate of Letters conferred by Texas Christian University- 2016

International Dublin Literary Award Nominee for The Invention of Wings- 2015

Short listed for Leserpreis, German Book Award for The Invention of Wings-2015

SIBA Award, Fiction (Southern Independent Booksellers) for The Invention of Wings-2015

Florida Book Award, Fiction- The Invention of Wings-2014

Founder’s Award for Exemplary Service to History, Historical Society of Pennsylvania-2014

Goodreads Choice Award runner up, Historical Fiction- The Invention of Wings

Elle Magazine Grand Prix Reader’s Prize – The Invention of Wings- 2014

An Amazon “Best Book” for 2014- The Invention of Wings

A Library Journal “Best Book” for 2014- The Invention of Wings

Audie Award Finalist for best audiobook, The Invention of Wings- 2015

American Library Assoc Listen List for outstanding audiobooks, The Invention of Wings- 2015

Selected for Oprah’s Book Club 2.0, The Invention of Wings- 2014

Induction into South Carolina Academy of Authors Literary Hall of Fame- 2011

Homecoming Award, Oklahoma Center for Poets and Writers, Oklahoma State University- 2010

35th People’s Choice Awards Best Drama & Best Independent Film, The Secret Life of Bees 2009

40th NAACP Image Award- Best Motion Picture, The Secret Life of Bees 2009

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Nominee – The Mermaid Chair-2006

Distinguished Alumna of the Year, Texas Christian University- 2006

South Carolina “The Order of the Palmetto” Award- 2006

Quill Award for General Fiction- The Mermaid Chair- 2005

Southeastern Library Association Fiction Award- The Secret Life of Bees-2005

Book Sense Book of the Year, paperback- The Secret Life of Bees-2004

Literature To Life Award from The American Place Theatre- 2004

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Nominee- The Secret Life of Bees-2004

Southeastern Booksellers Association’s Book of the Year- The Secret Life of Bees- 2003

Book Sense Book of the Year Award finalist, hardcover- The Secret Life of Bees- 2003

Boeke Prize finalist, South Africa- The Secret Life of Bees- 2003

Orange Prize (longlisted) Nominee, England- The Secret Life of Bees- 2002

Literal Latte Creative Non-Fiction third prize-1999

Poets & Writers Exchange Program winner, Fiction- 1996

Best American Short Stories Citation, 100 Distinguished Stories -1996

South Carolina Fellowship in Literature from the South Carolina Arts Commission- 1994

Best American Short Stories 1994 Citation, 100 Distinguished Stories– The Secret Life of Bees.

Katherine Anne Porter Second Prize in Fiction from the Nimrod/Hardman Awards- 1993

South Carolina Academy of Authors Fellowships in Fiction- 1994 & 1996

Isak Dineson Creative Non-Fiction Award- 1994

South Carolina Fiction Project Winner, South Carolina Arts Commission- 1993, 1995, 1997